Science

The State of Connecticut and the Stamford Public Schools’ frameworks foster the development of interest in global issues and the ability to collect, analyze, and use data to explore and explain related science concepts for students in grades 9 and 10. For students in grades 11 and 12, the focus of learning shifts to the development of deep understanding of science concepts and principles and to the preparation for future studies and careers.

Alternatives to Dissection
Dissection is one of many instructional methods used in life science courses. Students may request alternatives to dissection. Alternatives include such materials as videos, computer programs, films, models, transparencies, charts, diagrams, dissecting microscopes and textbook overlays. If alternatives to dissection are requested, teacher assistance will be available at all times, and no grades may be adversely affected because alternatives are requested.

 

Science Teacher Websites 








 

Faculty

Department Head:
Carmella Vavrinec
203-977-4261
CVavrinec@StamfordCT.gov

 

Teachers:
Kristen Amon
KAmon@StamfordCT.gov

Sara Anderson
SAnderson@StamfordCT.gov

Joseph Cozza
JCozza@StamfordCT.gov

David DelGiudice
DDelGiudice@StamfordCT.gov

Paxson Gifford
PGifford@StamfordCT.gov

George Grillo
GGrillo@StamfordCT.gov

Bill Halmeck
WHalmeck@StamfordCt.gov

Kristen Hannigan
KHannigan@StamfordCT.gov

Saleh  Jahangir
SJahangir@StamfordCT.gov

Donna Kaiser
DKaiser@StamfordCT.gov

Ella Kraiz
EKraiz@StamfordCT.gov

Tara Karlson
TKarlson@StamfordCT.gov

Gregory Lewis
GLewis@StamfordCT.gov

Teresa Pucci
TPucci@StamfordCT.gov

Anne Runge
ARunge@StamfordCT.gov

Teri Townes
TTownes@StamfordCT.gov

Jamie VanAcker
JVanAcker@StamfordCT.gov

 

Science Lounge:
203-977-5611

Support Staff:
Chris LaRusso