Special Ed

The Office of Pupil Personnel Services contains the Departments of Guidance, Language/Speech, Hearing and Visually Handicapped, Psychology, Special Education, and Social Work. Programs and services described in the following paragraphs have one common goal: the offering of individualized educational programs and services for students and their families. Students are encouraged to visit with the staff of each department to learn how they can receive appropriate help. Stamford High School provides a wide range of Special Education services and support. In compliance with the reauthorization of Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA 2004) students are eligible for special education related services by recommendation of an IEP meeting.  Requests for such a meeting may be initiated by the student, parents, or staff.

An Individualized Education Plan (IEP) is developed and implemented for each student receiving Special Education services. Based on the IEP, course selections are planned with the student. Differentiated instruction and inclusive best practices are implemented to address individual learning styles and needs.

For Guidance information please refer to the Guidance website section.

For Psychology and Social Work please refer to the Support Services website section.

 

Special Services Teacher Websites 





Faculty

Department Head:
Leslie Pitiger
LPitiger@stamfordct.gov
203-977-4591

 

Teachers:

Patricia Ashley
PAshley@StamfordCT.gov

Michael Bucciarelli
MBucciarelli@StamfordCT.gov

John DiGiacomo
JDiGiacomo@stamfordct.gov

Susan Dougherty
SDougherty@StamfordCT.gov

Celeste Elfstrom
CElfstrom@StamfordCT.gov

Mitchell Foote

mfoote@stamfordct.gov

Harla Forrest
HForrest@StamfordCT.gov

Joe Kaufman
JKaufman@StamfordCT.gov

Natallia Kohut
NKohut@StamfordCT.gov

Peggy Plair
PPlair@StamfordCT.gov

Brenda Ricco
BRicco@StamfordCT.gov

Brian Shanahan
BShanahan@StamfordCT.gov

Vanessa Visner
VVisner@StamfordCT.gov

Helen Wiess
HWiess@StamfordCT.gov

 

Para Educators:
Jontel Alston
Denise Boucher
Ruth Cohen
Annette Cortez
Shaun Cukierski
Marian Garcia
Jean Johnson
Rana Khan
Matthew Kyek
Margarita Martinez
Faith Pierce
George Reid
John Rich
Jacqueline Rios
Tyrone Robinson
Myrtice Servance
Al Shanen
Jane Spiller
Kathryn Trusty
Vilene Venescar